1 to 100 Jersey Number In Indian Women Cricket Team

1 to 100 Jersey Number In Indian Women Cricket Team, India Women Cricket Team Players List with Jersey Numbers

India Women’s National Cricket Team, nicknamed the Women in Blue, represents India in women’s International Cricket. It is governed by the Board of Control for Cricket in India and made its test debut in 1976 against the West Indies. And its Day International Debut at the 1978 World Cup, which is Hosted. 

It was the 1997 World Cup, where women’s cricket was played with Women Sporting wearing a colored jerseys. Then jersey numbers were introduced for the first time in the next edition of the ICC event in 2000. We have updated Indian Women Cricket Team Jersey Numbers List. Both Smriti Mandhana and Virat Kohli have jersey number one. Smriti and Kohli wear the number 18 Jersey for the Indian cricket team. From here you can see a List of Jersey numbers of the Indian Women Cricket Team. 

1 to 100 Jersey Number In Indian Women Cricket Team- India’s Women Cricket Players Jersey Number 

Women’s Cricket Team played first time with Sporting a cloured Jersey in the 1997 World Cup. Then in the next edition of the ICC Event in 2000, Jersey Numbers were Introduced for the First time and since then have been one of the Parameters to characterize the players participating in the game. Initially, the Jersy numbers were allotted in a random fashion, but as time progressed, the Cricketers demanded particular Jersey numbers owing to astrology Superstitions, and favoritism. 

India Women Cricket Team Players List with Jersey Numbers 

Player Name  Jersey Number 
Rajeshwari Gayakwad  01
Anjum Chopra, Sneh Rana  2
Mithali Raj 3
Jemimah Rodrigues  5
Reema Malhotra, Deepti Sharma 6
Harmanpreet Kaur  84, 7
Ekta Bisht  8
Renuka Singh Thakur  10
Yastika Bhatia  11
Shiksha Pandey  12
Richa Ghosh  13
Punam Raut  14
Shafali Verma 17
Smriti Mandhana  18
Radha Yadav  21
Pooja Vastrakar  23
Poonam Yadav 24
Jhulam Goswami  25
Meghna Singh  26
Sabbineni Meghana  27
Taniya Bhatia  28
Mona Meshram 30
Priya Punia  69
Veda Krishnamurthy 79
Harleen Deol 98

Jersey No. 18 in Cricket- List of Jersey Numbers of Indian Women Cricket Team 

Batter Smriti Mandhana and vice-Captain Harmanpreet Kaur are the stalwarts of the Indian Women’s Cricket Team. The duo proved their class in helping India register an easy win in the recently concluded ICC Women’s World Cup match against West Indies.

At one point the Indian team was struggling 78-3, but then the carnage ensued. The pair of Mandhana and Kaur took the responsibility of making an amazing partnership in their own hands. The duo put on 184 runs for the fourth wicket and turned the tide in India’s favor.

While Mandhana completed her fifth women’s century in 108 balls, Kaur batted just 100 balls to complete her fourth century. It is noteworthy that Mandhana and Kaur scored their second and third World Cup centuries respectively to play a key role in the 155-run victory.

India's Women Cricket Players Jersey Number 

Story of Jersey Number 18 in Cricket 

Mandhana, who wears Jersey number 18 for the Indian Women’s Tea, Shares the same number with Former Men’s Team Captain Virat Kohli. Coincidentally, Mandhana is also quite consistent for the Women’s Team. 

Mandhana and Australia all-rounder Ellyse Perry are the only players to have won the ICC Player of the Year award more than once in their careers in women’s cricket.

Jersey No. 7 in Cricket 

After Mandhana and Kohli jersey number 18, jersey number 7 is also very famous in cricket. Because the former captain of India’s team Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Harmanpreet Kaur are also seen in the same number jersey. Both have jersey number 7. Both Kaur and Dhoni like to play aggressive cricket. Kohli and Dhoni had some amazing partnerships and so is Mandhana and Kaur. Women’s World Cup Winner List-

Some Stories Behind Jersey Number 84, 7 & 18 of Women Cricketers 

1. Harmanpreet Kaur- 84, 7 

The Indian T20I Women Team Captain sported Jersey number 84 from her debut in 2009 until May 2021. The Reason for Choosing the number 84, was the 1984 riots in Punjab.

She dedicated all his victories to the victims of the riots. Then in May 2021, all players were given a new jersey number and started wearing jersey number 7.

Indian Women Cricket Team

2. Smriti Mandhana – 18 

The Left-handed top-order batter initially wanted a no 7 Jersey, which was worn by MS Dhoni in International cricket. This was due to her School role Number being 7, but another Player already had taken the number at the time of her Debut. The Team Manager convinced Smriti Madhana to take up the Jersey Number 18, which is sported by Virat Kolhi. Since 2014, she has been wearing the 18 Number Jersey. 

Also Read- CSK Captain MS Dhoni arrives in Surat to begin his IPL 2022 Preparation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *