BCB Appoints Albie Morkel As Power-Hitting Coach Ahead Of South Africa Tour

Albie Morkel Joins Bangladesh as Power-Hitting Coach Bangladesh Tour of South Africa 2022 

Bangladesh Cricekt Board appoints Albie Morkel as Power-Hitting Coach Ahead of South Africa Tour. Bangladesh Cricket Board has appointed former South African all-rounder Albie Morkel as the batting coach. Albie Morkel will give batting tips to the team in the ODI series against South Africa.

Morkel will be joined by fellow countryman Allan Donald, who recently joined as fast bowling coach. This will be the first instance where the Bangladesh cricket team will be seen with a power-hitting coach, which has been seen as a weakness in Bangladesh’s limited-overs team.

Confirming the appointment, the President of BCB Cricket Operations, Jalal Yunus said that Morkel has already started working with the ODI team. Younis said, “He is a very experienced campaigner and we feel that his coaching will help our batsmen.

BCB Appoints Albie Morkel As Power-Hitting Coach Ahead Of South Africa Tour

Meanwhile, Shakib Al Hasan will be a part of the team after a lot of struggle with his availability. The BCB announced that it would be on break until 30 April only to retract his statement and confirm that Shakib would tour.

“I have spoken to Papon bhai and we can plan for the whole year. I will be available in all three formats and the board will decide when to rest me. I am available for the South Africa series.”

“Now I am in better shape (mentally). I can get better after moving to South Africa. It happens sometimes when you go to a better environment you feel better,” Shakib had recently told reporters.

On landing in South Africa, the Bangladesh Team will not have to complete the quarantine period and can start training from March 14.

BCB appointed Albie Morkel power-hitting coach for SA ODIs

Bangladesh ODI squad for South Africa series:

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Liton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Afif Hossain, Mehdi Hassan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Shorful Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Yasir Ali Chaudhry, Syed Khalid Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *