Pakistan Announces 16-Man Squad for Australia Test Series

Pakistan has announced a 16-member squad for the historic 3-Test series against Australia. The three-Test is scheduled to start from 04th of March in Rawalpindi, with Karachi and Lahore set to host the next two matches.

Opener Shan Masood returns to the line-up as Pakistan makes 3 changes from their comprehensive series victory against Bangladesh. Masood, who last played in New Zealand in the 2020-21 seasons, replaces Abid Ali in the 16-Member squad.

AUS vs PAK – Pakistan announces 16-Man Squad

The Australian Cricket teams are scheduled to tour Pakistan in the month of March & April 2022 to play 3 Tests, 3 ODIs, and 1 T20I match. The Test series will form part of the 2021–2023 ICC World Test Championship, and the ODI series will form part of the inaugural 2020–2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Super League. Since 1998, It will be the first tour of Australia to Pakistan.

Australian Cricket Team in Pakistan in 2021–22

Match Pakistan vs Australia
Dates 04 March – 05 April 2022
Pakistan Captains Babar Azam
Australian Captains Pat Cummins (Tests)
Test Series
One Day International Series
Twenty20 International Series

Australia tour to Pakistan Schedule

The BCCI has not yet revealed the schedule of the cash-rich league but several members of the board including Ganguly have confirmed that the tournament is most likely to commence in the final week of March 2022 of the tournament so far.

Test Series Schedule

1st Test 4-8 March 2022 Pakistan vs Australia Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
2nd Test 12-16 March 2022 Pakistan vs Australia National Stadium, Karachi
3rd Test 21-25 March 2022 Pakistan vs Australia Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

ODI Series Schedule

1st ODI 29 March 2022 Pakistan vs Australia Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
2nd ODI 31 March 2022 Pakistan vs Australia Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi
3rd ODI 2 April 2022 Pakistan vs Australia Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Only T20Is

T20Is 5 April 2022 Pakistan vs Australia Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi

Australia Tour Pakistan

Australia had put in a formal request following the announcement of the tour schedule. The Tests are to be played at a single venue Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi for health & security reasons. The PCB initially dismissed the request by claiming that hosted 3 Test matches at a single venue.

The series will mark Australia’s 1st visit to Pakistan in 24 years. The Test Series squad will have to undergo isolation in the home country before boarding to Islamabad on 27th February 2022. The team can commence training in Rawalpindi, the venue of the tour’s opening match.

The ODI squad is scheduled to be held on 24th March 2022 after an isolation period in Australia. The squad and then travel back to Rawalpindi for the 2nd half of the tour. David Warner & Mitchell Starc are expected to miss the One Day International (ODI) & Twenty20 International (T20I) series.

Pakistan 16-Man Squad

Babar Azam (C), Mohammad Rizwan, Fawad Alam, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, M Nawaz, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Shan Masood, and Zahid Mahmood

Reserves: Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah

Australia Team Squad

Pat Cummins (C), Steve Smith (VC), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey (WK), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Travis Head, Josh Inglis (WK, Usman Khawaja, Michael Neser, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, and David Warner

Also Read PCB releases revised Schedule for Australia’s tour of Pakistan

See More Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *