KL Rahul will miss the 1st ODI against West Indies

The 1st ODI match of the Team India series under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. Team India is set to play three ODIs at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad from 06th February 2022 followed by the T20I series at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata from 16th February 2022.

IND vs WI 2022 – Match Schedule

India will lock horns against West Indies in an ODI and T20I series. The IND vs WI 2022 ODI and T20 International series will be three games each.  The 1st ODI between IND vs WI is to be played on 6th February 2022, while the 2nd & 3rd match is to be scheduled on 9th & 11th February 2022. The ODIs will be followed by T20Is, with the 1st match on 16th February. The 2nd and 3rd match is to be held on 18th & 20th February 2022.

Day Date Match Venue
Sunday 6th February 1st ODI Ahmedabad
Wednesday 9th February 2nd ODI                                                Ahmedabad
Friday 11th February 3rd ODI Ahmedabad
Wednesday 16th February 1st T20I Kolkata
Friday 18th February 2nd T20I Kolkata
Sunday 20th February 3rd T20I Kolkata

IND vs WI – KL Rahul will miss the 1st ODI against West Indies

KL Rahul will miss the 1st ODI owing to personal reasons. He will be available from the 2nd ODI on 09th February 2022. The final ODI will also be held on 11th February 2022. Both teams then travel to Kolkata for a three-match T20I series.

Recently, KL Rahul led India in Test & ODI matches in South Africa (SA). Under his leadership, India lost the Test match. Rahul will be missing the 1st ODI Match due to his sister’s wedding. He was very close to being recalled after Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, & Shreyas Iyer – tested positive for Covid-19. Furthermore, Mayank Agarwal was called for the Indian ODI squad.

KL Rahul to be available from 2nd ODI against Windies

KL Rahul’s sister’s marriage is not known yet. However, the Indian cricketer will be available for the 2nd ODIs. He will join the team on 06 February to complete an isolation period of 3 days. Following the Covid break in the Indian camp, the Team has only 5 specialist batsmen in the line-up.

ODI Squad – Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shikhar Dhawan, Deepak Hooda, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, and Avesh Khan.

Also Read India v West Indies 1st ODI Match Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *