The 15th Season of the Indian Premier League has started to ring bells soon. Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 is set to start from next month in March 2022. In a few days, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will officially announce the full schedule for the IPL tournament. The process of player retentions for the IPL 2022 has just been completed. Reportedly, IPL 2022 will begin on 26th March 2022 and this year matches will be played in India this time.

During IPL 2022 Mega Auction, the ten teams bought a total of 204 Players whereas including 67 Overseas & 137 Indian Players. This year Ishan Kishan became the costlier player of the IPL Auction 2022 at INR 15.25 Crores. The wicketkeeper-batsman was bought by Mumbai Indians (MI) Franchise.

One of the important responsibilities is to find a powerful captain for any team. Now, since all the teams have finalized their Team Players, they are working on planning the strategy with their captains for the  IPL 2022 tournament. There are few franchises that have nominated their captains. Here we talk about the Expected Captains for All 10 Teams in IPL 2022.

IPL 2022 – Expected Captains for All 10 Teams in Indian Premier League

Team Name Captain
Mumbai Indians (MI) Rohit Sharma
Chennai Super Kings (CSK) MS Dhoni
Delhi Capitals (DC) Rishabh Pant
Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) Kane Williamson
Rajasthan Royals (RR) Sanju Samson
Punjab Kings (PBKS) Mayank Agarwal
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Shreyas Iyer
Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) Faf Du Plessis
Gujarat Titans (GT) Hardik Pandya
Lucknow Super Giants KL Rahul

List of Expected all ten Team Captain

Mumbai Indians (MI) – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma the most successful IPL captain has been retained by his parent franchise. He will hold his leadership roles for the upcoming 15th season as well. Under Rohit Sharma’s Captaincy, Mumbai Indians (MI) won 5 IPL titles in 8 years and did very well.

Rohit Sharma’s captaincy record is 2nd to none in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and he is a white ball captain for India’s captaincy after Virat Kohli.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) – MS Dhoni Ravindra Jadeja

The 4-times IPL winning IPL franchise, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) has retained the likes of Mahendra Singh Dhoni (M.S Dhoni) for the upcoming season of the IPL for an INR 12 Crores and is expected to lead his CSK team once again in the 15th Season.

M.S Dhoni had already indicated his plans for the coming season where he said that he wants to play his last match at Chennai’s Chepauk.

Delhi Capitals (DC) – Rishabh Pant

Rishabh Pant the young stumper batsman has been named as the leader of Delhi Capitals (DC) once again. He replaced Shreyas Iyer in the team. Rishabh Pant was appointed leader of the Delhi Capitals Team when Iyer was injured and he did well in his Captaincy.

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) – Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson the New Zealand captain is going to be SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) captain for the 15th season of the IPL 2022. He has been retained by the franchise for an INR 14 Crores during the recent IPL 2022 Auction. The franchise earlier dismissed David Warner from his captaincy and appointed Kane Williamson. David Warner was not given enough reasons for his removal.

Rajasthan Royals (RR) – Sanju Samson

The first champions of the IPL, Rajasthan Royals (RR) have young Sanju Samson as the leader of the Team. He has been retained by the franchise for INR 14 Crores. Sanju Samson was appointed Rajasthan’s captain during IPL 2021.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) – Mayank Agarwal

The Mohali-based IPL franchise is struggling to get going in the IPL. Mayank Agarwal is the probable player to lead the team in the upcoming auction of the IPL 2022. KL Rahul has already parted ways with the franchise. Mayank Agarwal has been retained by the franchise for whopping INR 12 Crores. He will serve the franchise for a few more years and is good for the captaincy role.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) – Shreyas Iyer

The two times IPL winner, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) doesn’t have a good captain right now. The franchise has retained players like Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, and Sunil Narine during the recent player retention and none of them seems to be the right.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) – Faf Du Plessis 

Virat Kohli recently decided to step down from the T20 captaincy. The franchise definitely wants someone who can take forward. It will be interesting to see, who will be the next captain of the RCB Team in the coming season. Meanwhile, Glenn Maxwell Australian all-rounder is reckoned to be the most likely and suitable player for the captaincy. Maxwell joined RCB a year ago and he did brilliant work for the IPL franchise in the middle order.

Gujarat Titans – Hardik Pandya

On 17 January, the official sources confirm, Ahmedabad announced their first 3 draft players – Hardik Pandya (15 Crores), Rashid Khan (10 Crores) & Shubham Gill (7 Crores). Based on the Ahmedabad player’s choice it is clear that Hardik Pandya is going to lead the Gujarat Titans Team in IPL 2022.

Lucknow Super Giants – KL Rahul

Former Punjab Kings (PBKS) captain KL Rahul is expected to join the Lucknow Super Giants’ new IPL franchise as their new captain. Rahul did well during his Previous playing with PBKS. He scored maximum runs for his Team and was quite good with his captaincy.

Also Read – Tata IPL 2022 Schedule, Venue, Match Time Table

See More Details

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *