IPL 2022 Format - Two Groups of Five, Each Team Still Plays 14 League Games 

BCCI Released IPL 2022 Format – Two Groups of Five, Each Team Still Plays 14 League Games 

BCCI has released the format of IPL league stage matches. The board has divided the teams into two groups for 70 league stage games. Each of the 10 teams will play 14 matches (7 home and 7 away) in the Indian Premier League 2022. Each team will play the five teams twice and the remaining four teams only once.

On Friday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India released the IPL 2022 form. This time the 15th TATA IPL T20 Champions League will start. BCCI also ensured that TATA IPL will start with 26 matches. Due to Corona, all the matches will be held on four Venues of Mumbai and Pune.

To ensure this, the 10 teams have been divided into two virtual groups of five, based on a seeding system determined by the number of IPL championships won and the number of final appearances.

IPL Format 2022 – 10 IPL Teams divided into Two Groups 

The Cricket Board, while releasing the IPL 2022 format, said that all the 10 teams have been divided into 2 groups (Group A and Group B). Each team will play twice against teams in their group and against teams in the same row in the other group. Thus a team in its group as well as in the other group will play 10 games with a total of 5 teams in the same row. Each team will play only once against the other four teams of the other group.

TATA IPL 2022 Group Format – 

Group A Group B 
Mumbai Indians (MI) Chennai Super Kings (CSK)
Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) Surisers Hyderabad (SRH)
Rajasthan Royals (RR) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
Delhi Capitals (DC) Punjab Kings (PBKS)
Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) Gujarat Titans (GT)

Explain with Example- KKR will play twice in the league stages against MI, RR, DC, LSG and SRH (Team in the same row in the other Group). And Kolkata will play only once against CSK, RCB, PBKS and GT. Thus there will be 14 League Stage Matches for every Team of the Indian Premier League. 

IPL Head to Head Stats

IPL 2022 Format - Two Groups of Five, Each Team Still Plays 14 League Games 

TATA IPL 2022 Format – Two Groups of Five, Each Team will play 14 League Games 

Indian Premier League 2011 was also the same format when two new teams Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala were formed in the IPL. BCCI also confirmed that IPL 2022 will kick off on 26 March 2022 and end on 29 May 2022. 

Along with this, the board has also released the IPL venue, 70 league matches are to be played at four venues in Mumbai and Pune. Each team will play 4 matches each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, and 3 Matches each at Brabourne (CCI) and MCA International Stadium Pune. 

“The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will be played in a bio-secure environment in the same hub to avoid air travel, which is considered a major threat to the spread of the COVID-19 infection, affecting the players and the league. match,” the BCCI explained.

Board will soon release the IPL Match List, Schedule, and Venue of Playoffs Matches. Our tam is provided latest news about IPL 2022 Format where 10 teams divided into two Groups. And each team will play 14 League stage Games with 4 same Group Team and 1 other Group Team. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *