Most Fifties in Indian Premier League History

Indian Premier League (IPL) one of the most popular sports leagues in the world, the IPL hosts some of the best cricketers in the world. The T20 Cricket tournament has become more of a batsman’s game. In the last 14 seasons of IPL, we have seen lots of world-class batters with grace. Some of our David Warner, Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan have been associated with this league since its beginning.

List of Players with Most Fifties in Indian Premier League History

Player IPL Fifties
David Warner 50
Shikhar Dhawan 44
Virat Kohli 40
Rohit Sharma 40
AB de Villiers 40
Suresh Raina 39
Gautam Gambhir 36
Chris Gayle 31

David Warner – 50

The captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), David Warner has scored 50 half-centuries in the Indian Premier League (IPL) Tournament. He is the 5th highest run-scorer and has won the orange cap thrice in the IPL in 148 Games and has scored 5447 runs at a strike rate of 140.13.

David Warner

Under his belt, he has four centuries, along with the long list of half-centuries. David Warner the Australian batsman has started his IPL career with the Delhi Daredevils in 2009. After then he was signed up by the Hyderabad Franchise in 2014 and was appointed as the captain in the next year.

Shikhar Dhawan – 44

Shikhar Dhawan is the 2nd-highest run-scorer in Indian Premier League history, but he is also the 2nd on the list of most fifties in the IPL tournament. He has scored 44 half-centuries and 2 centuries in 184 games. In IPL 2020, He became the 1st batsman in IPL history to hit 2 successive hundreds – the 1st against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and the 2nd against Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) two days after the first one.

Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan has started his IPL career in 2008 with Delhi Capitals. After that, he has played for Mumbai Indians (MI), Deccan Chargers (DC), and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), before being back with Delhi Capitals in 2019.

List of Highest Run Scorer & Wicket Taker in IPL History

Virat Kohli – 40

The captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Virat Kohli has scored the 3rd most fifties in the IPL Tournament. He has been with the RCB franchise since 2008, is also the tournament’s highest run-scorer with 6076 runs at a strike rate of 130.41.

Virat Kohli

In the 1st half of IPL Tournament 2021, against Rajasthan Royals (RR), He has become the 1st ever player in the IPL to score 6000 IPL runs. After Chris Gayle, Virat has also hit the 2nd most centuries (6) in the competition. After then, He became the Royal Challenger Bangalore (RCB) Captain in 2013.

Rohit Sharma – 40

The Mumbai Indians captain is the most successful captain in the IPL tournament with 05 trophies. Rohit Sharma has scored 40 fifties in a total of 207 matches. In 2008, He started his IPL career with the Deccan Chargers, before being bought by Mumbai Indian in 2011. Under his leadership, Mumbai Indians have won the IPL in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020. In 2013, they also won the Champions League T20.

Rohit Sharma

With 5480 runs, Rohit Sharma is currently the 4th top run-scorer in IPL History. Against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) his only century in the tournament came in 2012 when he scored an unbeaten 109 Runs.

Ab de Villiers – 40

The South African megastar Ab De Villiers has 40 half-centuries in 176 matches & also has 3 centuries that came in 2009, 2015 & 2016.

Ab de Villiers

Since the 2011 edition, he is the right-hander of the Royal Challengers Bangalore, before which he plied his trade for Delhi. He also holds the record for the most man of the match awards in IPL history with 23 awards. Ab de Villiers has scored 5056 runs at a strike rate of 152.38.

Suresh Raina – 39

The Chennai Super Kings batsman is the 3rd-highest run-scorer in the IPL History, during which he has scored 5491 runs, 39 fifties, and a century. Raina has been with CSK since starting of the season. In 200 games, he has scored 5491 runs at a strike rate of 140. Suresh Rains has not scored less than 350 runs in any season so far, in 2014 (523 runs), 2013 (548 runs), 2010 (520 runs) & 2018 (445 runs).

Suresh Raina

Gautam Gambhir – 36

The 2-time IPL winning captain has scored 36 half-centuries in the contest. Gautam was picked up by Delhi Capitals in the inaugural IPL season, in which he ended as the 2nd highest run-scorer from 14 matches with 534 runs. In the 2011 auctions, the former India batsman was bought by KKR and was appointed the team’s captain that same year.

Gautam Gambhir

Under Gautam Gambhir, the Kolkata Knight Rider has won the IPL in 2012 & 2014. In 2018, He returned to the Delhi franchise and ended his career. In all, he played 154 IPL games, in which he scored 4217 runs at a strike rate of 123.88.

Chris Gayle – 31

Chris Gayle, who has played for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) before being with his current team Kings XI Punjab, has been one of the most entertaining batsmen in the IPL tournament. He has scored 31 fifties, and also has 06 centuries.

Chris Gayle

The swashbuckling left-hander has 4950 IPL runs at a strike rate of almost 150. In IPL 2012 & 2013, the Jamaican hit 733 & 708 runs and proved to everyone that he is one of the best T20 batsmen in the world has ever seen.

Also Read – List of Most IPL Ducks in History Since 2008

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *