Match-Fixing Attempt being Investigated by Authorities

The Lanka Premier League (LPL)  has been reported of match-fixing in its 2nd season. The season ended on 23rd December 2022 with Jaffna Kings winning the final match against Galle Gladiators. Recently the sports ministry has initiated an investigation after an allegation filed for the match-fixing attempt. The head of the unit Jagath Fonseka said a leading national batter has complained that he was approached for corruption.

LPL 2022 – Match-Fixing Attempt being Investigated by Authorities

He told us that he had been approached by a rich gem businessman’s son and a friend of the same man. We have concluded our and forwarded the papers for the Attorney General, Jagath Fonseka told reporters.

The Prevention of Offences Relating to the Sports Act made a law in 2019 was enforced to prevent match-fixing attempts, illegal betting, corruption, and others. A Special Investigation Team was asked to be formed to track down such offenses as soon as possible.

Lanka Premier League 2022

The Lanka Premier League was played between 05th December – 23rd December 2022 with 05 teams participating in the LPL tournament. It included 24 matches with Galle Gladiators and Jaffna Kings playing the final on 23rd December 2021 of the 2021 season. The games were played at 2 venues namely, Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium, Hambantota, and R. Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Colombo.

Jaffna Kings won the Lanka Premier League 2021 Title

Match Match Date Teams Timing Venue
Final Match 23rd December 2021 Jaffna Kings vs Galle Gladiators (Lanka Premier League) 7:30 PM Hambantota

Jaffna Kings won the champions of Lanka Premier League 2021 (LPL 2021) after defeating Galle Gladiators by 23 runs at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Stadium (Hambantota).

By considering the games for the teams in the Lanka Premier League, it was said that the Jaffna Kings team making it to win for the LPL 2021. Jaffna Kings was consistently leading the points table for Lanka Premier League 2021.

Winner –  Jaffna Kings

I am really honored to lead this team. Our owner gave me the power to pick the team, I am really happy today. Danushka batted really well, 200 is difficult to chase, especially in the final and that’s what I said to the boys. Better than last year, we can do better next year. Thanks to the fans, they cheered for us, thanks to everyone said Jaffna Kings Captain Thisara Perera after leading the team to the 2021 title.

Also Read – Lanka Premier League Final 2021

<<<<<<<<<<<See More Details>>>>>>>>>>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *