Pune and Mumbai is finalized Venues for the Indian Premier League Tournament

IPL 2022 – The Indian Premier League is likely to start from 27th March 2022 and the BCCI has finalized the venues of the IPL 15th season Tournament of the cash-rich league. The BCCI officials meeting was held, the franchise owners and the IPL governing council were zeroed in for 4 venues. The IPL 2022 15th season will be a 10-team event where as many as 74 matches are to be played.

Pune and Mumbai has finalized Venues for the IPL Tournament

There have been Mumbai’s three stadiums named Wankhede, Brabourne & DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai, and Pune were shortlisted for possible venues. As per the discussions, the BCCI wants to hold the tournament in Maharashtra and the first game is to be held in Mumbai.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has also kept South Africa as an option because of the seriousness of Covid 19 cases in Mumbai. A final decision on the venues will be given to the franchises by 20th February 2022 after monitoring the situation of Covid in Mumbai.

IPL 2022: UAE hosting IPL 2022

The UAE hosting IPL 2022 was also discussed in the meeting with BCCI. The franchise owners have also preferred UAE over South Africa in the meeting. However, UAE successfully hosted the two back-to-back IPL seasons in the years 2020 & 2021. In the UAE, the same was also seen in the T20 World Cup as well.

One of the reasons for choosing Maharashtra just was that schools were asked to reopen from 24th January 2022, giving encouraging signs for the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to look forward.

Discussion with the Maharashtra Cricket Association has already begun regarding the successful staging of IPL 2022. The IPL 2022 Mega Auctions are to be held in Bengaluru between 12-13 February 2022 as originally planned.

Also Read – IPL 2022 Auction – Two New Teams added for the Indian Premier League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *