Rishabh Pant elevated as India’s Vice-Captain for T20I Series

The BCCI has elevated Rishabh Pant as the vice-captain (VC) of India’s T20I squad for the upcoming 3-match series against the WI from 16th February 2022. In the absence of KL Rahul, the wicketkeeper-batter will step in as Rohit Sharma’s deputy in the Twenty20 International series.

After newly appointed India white-ball vice-captain KL Rahul got due to a hamstring injury he picked up during the ODI series. After playing the 2nd ODI of the 3-match series against West Indies at the Narendra Modi Stadium. BCCI has elevated Rishabh Pant to vice-captaincy for the upcoming 3-match T20I series against West Indies from 16th February 2022 onwards.

IND vs WI – India squad for West Indies T20Is

Rohit Sharma (C), Rishabh Pant (VC) (WK), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohd. Siraj, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Deepak Hooda, and Kuldeep Yadav.

West Indies tour of India – Match Schedule

 Day Date Match Venue
Thursday 24th February 1st T20I Lucknow
Saturday 26th February 2nd T20I Dharamsala
Sunday 27th February 3rd T20I Dharamsala
Friday 4th-8th March 1st Test Mohali
Saturday 12th -16th March 2nd Test (D/N) Bengaluru

Rishabh Pant elevated as India’s Vice-Captain for T20I Series

KL Rahul, who had missed the 1st One Day International series for the wedding of his sister, joined the team and batted at no.4 for the Indian team in the 2nd ODI. However, it was later revealed that KL Rahul had suffered a hamstring injury and was ruled out of the 3rd and final ODI and the subsequent T20I series.

BCCI in its latest announcement on 14th February 2022, revealed that Rishabh Pant has been made the vice-captain of the Indian T20I team for the 3 T20Is against West Indies (WI), which will be played on 16th, 18th, and 20th February 2022 at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Meanwhile, BCCI also informed that Washington Sundar will also miss the Twenty20 International series after suffering a hamstring muscle strain while fielding in the 3rd ODI Series.

Deepak Hooda is replaced by Axar Patel’s, while the All-India Senior Selection Committee has also named Kuldeep Yadav as Washington’s replacement.

Also Read – BCCI announces revised schedule for Home Series

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *