Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 – SMAT Team List, Schedule, Points Table and Winners List 

The 13th edition of this Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is going on. This is a Twenty20 competition which is being played in India. This competition has started on 04 November 2021 and Tamilnadu and Kolkata team will face in the final of 22 November 2021. The tournament is part of the Indian domestic cricket season and is organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). Tamil Nadu was the champion in the last season of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. This time also Tamilnadu and Kolkata have reached the final on 22 November.

If we talk about Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Team list, this time a total of 38 teams are participating in this tournament. All teams were initially divided into five groups, with seven teams each in Groups A and B, and eight teams each in Groups C, D and E.

However, in August 2021, the BCCI announced that the tournament would be divided into six groups, with six teams in the five elite groups and eight teams in the plate group.

2021-22 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Team List 

This time the Cricket Control Board of India has divided all 38 teams into 6 groups, which include 5 Elite Groups (Elite Group A, B, C, D) and a Plate Group. There are 6-6 teams in each Elite group and 8 teams in the Plate. 

Teams playing for Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 – Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Punjab, Goa, Odisha, Puducherry (Elite Group-A), Bengal, Karnataka, Mumbai, Chhattisgarh, Baroda, Services (Elite Group B), Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Andhra, Haryana, Jammu and Kashmir (Elite Group C), Gujarat, Madhya Pradesh, Kerala, Assam, Railways, Bihar (Elite Group D), Hyderabad, Saurashtra, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Chandigarh, Uttarakhand (Elite Group E) and Vidarbha, Tripura, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Sikkim, Mizoram, Manipur, Arunachal Pradesh (Plate Group).

Women’s Big Bash League

India vs New Zealand Test Series

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 Schedule 

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy was held on 4 November. The entire tournament consists of League Stage Matches, Pre Quarter Final (3 Matches), Quarter Final (4 Matches), Semi-Final (2 Matches) and Final Match. This time in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy semi-final, Tamil Nadu defeated Hyderabad and Karnataka defeated Vidarbha, both the teams reached the final.

SMAT Full Schedule 

Preliminary Quarter-Finals 

Pre Quarter Final 1

16 November 2021- Maharashtra v Vidarbha (Vidarbha won by 7 wickets)

Pre Quarter Final 2

16 November 2021- Saurashtra v Karnataka (Karnataka won by 2 wickets)

Pre Quarter Final 3 

16 November 2021- Himachal Pradesh v Kerala (Kerala won by 8 wickets)


1st Quarter-Final 

18 November 2021- Kerala v Tamil Nadu (Tamil Nadu won by 5 wickets)

2nd Quarter-final

18 November 2021- Karnataka v Bengal Match tied (Karnataka won the Super Over)

3rd Quarter-final

18 November 2021- Rajasthan v Vidarbha (Vidarbha won by 9 wickets)

4th Quarter-final

18 November 2021- Hyderabad v Gujarat (Hyderabad won by 30 Runs)


1st 1st Semi-final

20 November 2021- Hyderabad v Tamil Nadu (Tamil Nadu won by 8 wickets)

2nd Semi-final

20 November 2021- Karnataka v Vidarbha (Karnataka won by 4 runs)


22 November 2021- Karnataka v Tamil Nadu (Result awaited)

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 Points Table 

The League Stage of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy had 5 matches from each team. There is a provision of giving 4 points to the team for winning the match and 0 points for losing. Preliminary quarter-finals were held on 16th November out of which Karnataka, Vidarbha and Kerala teams reached the quarter-finals. Four teams (Hyderabad, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Vidarbha) made it to the semi-finals out of the quarter-finals between 8 teams.

Check Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Points Table 

 Karnataka and Tamil Nadu have made it to the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy final in both the semi-finals played on 20 November. The final match will be played on 22 November 2021. If we talk about the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy points table, then Vidarbha are on top of the plate with 20 points after winning 5 out of 5 matches. Maharashtra (16 points) in Elite Group A, Bengal (16 points) in Group B, Rajasthan (20 points) in Group C, Gujarat (16 points) in Group D and Hyderabad with 20 points in Group E.

What is Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is a domestic Twenty20 Cricket Championship in India. It is organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The SMAT Tournament is played among the teams from the Ranji Trophy. 

It is named after the famous Indian test cricketer, Syed Mushtaq Ali. The 2006-2007 inaugural season of this trophy was won by Tamil Nadu under the captaincy of Dinesh Karthik. Rohit Sharma scored the first T20 century by an Indian, which is in the first edition of the SMAT trophy.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Winners List from 2006 to Present 

Here you can see Winners List and Runners-up list from 2006 to 2021-22. Tamil Nadu won the title in the inaugural season of the SMAT trophy. In the final match, Tamilnadu defeated Punjab to become the first Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy champion. After that Maharashtra and then Bengal won the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in the next season. We are giving below the SMAT Winners – Runners-up list of the entire season.

Seasons Winners Runners-up. India
2006/07 Tamil Nadu Punjab
2009/10 Maharashtra Hyderabad
2010/11 Bengal Madhya Pradesh
2011/12 Baroda Punjab
2012/13 Gujarat Punjab
2013/14 Baroda Uttar Pradesh
2014/15 Gujarat Punjab
2015/16 Uttar Pradesh Baroda
2016/17 East Zone Central Zone
2017/18 Delhi Rajasthan
2018/19 Karnataka Maharashtra
2019/20 Karnataka Tamil Nadu
2020/21 Tamil Nadu Baroda
2021/22 [[]] [[]]

Visit official website

So, you may here check complete details about Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22 – SMAT Team List, Schedule, Points Table and Winners List. If you want to get more details then put your comment here. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *